Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Gel Cream Review

Since realising that my beloved L’Oreal Revitalift SPF 30 moisturiser was making my face shine like a bowl of melted butter under my make up by 10am everyday, I have been on a look out for a new one!
I loved Lush Imperialis moisturiser but it has no SPF in it! I will go back to that one in the winter when I can let my heavier foundation base take the weak rays from the sun.
For now I decided to try Boots Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Gel Cream which has SPF 15.

20140505-192127.jpg

It claims to provide moisture whilst controlling shine on oily skin. It also has clarifying willow bark to calm the complexion.
The packaging is a clean and simple plastic jar, nothing too amazing but then the product is only £3.49!

20140505-192611.jpg

The product itself is a heavy opaque white gel, which is nice and cooling on the face and neck! I should imagine this would be absolutely heavenly straight from the fridge on a hot day!
It’s spreads easily and takes a bit of massaging in before it vanishes into the skin!
It moisturises well, even on my dry patches!
I find though that my face still gets a shine to it before I get to eat my luncheon at 1pm. It’s less of an oil slick granted but the Imperialis kept my face virtually shine free for most of the day!
I also can’t say it has calmed any blemishes but it also hasn’t made them worse.
All in all I wouldn’t purchase again myself but I will see it through to the end of the pot and it would make an awesome summer moisturiser for someone with a normal skin type!

You can find it here to purchase!

20140505-193500.jpg

Leave a Reply

